Posts Tagged ‘What if…’

Paul Gilbert interviewed by Music Radar

Thursday, January 6th, 2011

Another year, another cool interview (6 pages!!) from the folks at Music Radar with Paul Gilbert, discussing among other things the Mr Big. reunion, his practice and hearing loss. Check out an excerpt below:

Last year you put out the solo record Fuzz Universe, and you were quoted as saying it was “a giant step closer to the ultimate rock guitar sound and playing of my dreams.” Would you say something similar about the new Mr Big record?

“I keep tweaking those knobs, and I keep liking it more. I was at my studio today, still trying new tone experiments. I don’t know if it’s a blessing or a curse, but I love the constant exploration for the most satisfying tone. It’s not just how it sounds, but also how it feels to the player. Different tones inspire different directions of playing. I’m still giddy that you thought I played something that sounded like Leslie West, so I hope I’m heading in a good tone direction.”

For the whole interview, head over to Music Radar

Mr Big. New Album & Video

Wednesday, December 1st, 2010

It’s not exactly breaking news that Mr Big. having reformed last year has spent most of the autumn working on a new album. The record is called What If and is due to be released on 21 December 2010 (according to Amazon) or 21 January 2010 according to Here is the album artwork:

MR Big. What If ...

What if … pigs could fly, well I dunno, what if … hen had teeth? You get the idea. The album marks the return of Mr Big in its original line-up (that is to say, with my favourite guitar player, Mr Paul Gilbert) since 1996. says:

What If… was produced by Kevin Shirley (AEROSMITH, RUSH, IRON MAIDEN) and the release will be followed by a World Tour which will kick off in South America in March and will hit Europe in early summer.

I will report further once European dates are known. I’ll be crossing fingers that there will be more than just the one date in London like last year but perhaps it’ll depend on the response to the album’s release. In the meantime, here’s the setlist for the album:

  1. ‘Undertow’
  2. ‘American Beauty’
  3. ‘Stranger In My Life’
  4. ‘Nobody Takes The Blame’
  5. ‘Still Ain’t Enough For Me’
  6. ‘Once Upon A Time’
  7. ‘As Far As I Can See’
  8. ‘All The Way Up’
  9. ‘I Won’t Get In My Way’
  10. ‘Around The World’
  11. ‘I Get The Feeling’
  12. ‘Unforgiven’ (exclusive bonus track for Europe / North America – not on vinyl edition)

And here’s the promotional video for the first single to be released: Undertow

Awesome tune if you ask me, it sold me on the album (as if I needed much convincing :-P)